Joël Colon, pedagogical Director of EDL and Architect HES is registered with the CAMAC, Central Authority for Construction of the Vaud Cantonal Administration.

He began his career in the renowned Geneva architectural office Charles Braillard, participating in important commercial, rental, and administrative achievements, such as the Trade Development Bank building on Rue du Rhône street, the Building of Trade and Merchants Place du Molard in Geneva and for which it has executed numerous models of architectural projects, some for the achievements of Maurice Braillard currently exhibited at the Braillard Fondation in Geneva.

Then, he collaborated with the offices of architects Jean-Pierre Tripod, VVR and Markob, for major architectural projects in Geneva, France, notably in Monaco, Turkey and Belgium, in which it addresses all phases of the architect’s mandate, from concept to achievement. For some mandates, he has surrounded himself with young interior architects with whom he has enriched his knowledge in the field of interior architecture and design.

During his career as an architect, Joël Colon taught several apprentices in building design at the CFC, then at Reg B. He also taught architecture, interior architecture and decoration at the Bellecour school in Lyon (France) for about 15 years.

In 2005, he took over the pedagogical Direction of EDL, Ecole Dubois Lausanne founded in 1965 by the academician and interior architect Marius Joseph Dubois and opened his architecture workshop located in Place de la Gare 4, in Lausanne.

Students in architecture of the EDL thus participate in a concrete way in the different stages of the mandates of the architecture office in the French-speaking cantons, from the project to the public inquiry, from the execution plans to the studies of details, from material selection to implementation, from bidding to site follow-up to final phase.

Building on the experience gained over the years, its objective remains above all to convey its passion and its skills in the various modes of graphic representation in order to guide each student on the path that goes from the project to the realization, helping him to gain confidence in his qualities, expressing his ideas and transmitting his own message through the universal language of drawing.

As demanding as he is with his students, he leads them to go beyond their limits and acquire all the qualities required to be competitive in the labour market.

Joël Colon, Directeur pédagogique de l'EDL et Architecte HES est inscrit au registre de la CAMAC, Centrale des autorisations en matière de construction de l’Administration cantonale vaudoise.

Il débute sa carrière au sein du renommé bureau d’architecture genevois Charles Braillard, participant à des réalisations commerciales, locatives, et administratives d'importance, tels le bâtiment de la Trade Development Bank à la rue du Rhône, le bâtiment du Commerce et des Négociants place du Molard à Genève et pour lesquels il a exécuté de nombreuses maquettes de projets d’architecture, dont certaines pour les réalisations de Maurice Braillard actuellement exposées à la Fondation Braillard à Genève.

Il collabore ensuite avec les bureaux d’architectes Jean-Pierre Tripod, VVR et Markob, pour de grands projets d’architecture à Genève, en France, notamment à Monaco, en Turquie et en Belgique, lors desquels il aborde toutes les phases du mandat d'architecte, du concept à la réalisation. Pour certains mandats, il s'est entouré de jeunes architectes d'intérieur avec lesquels il a enrichi ses connaissances dans le domaine de l'aménagement et du design d'intérieur.

Durant sa carrière d’architecte, Joël Colon a formé au CFC plusieurs apprentis dessinateurs en bâtiments, amenés ensuite au Reg B. Il a également enseigné l’architecture, l’architecture intérieure et la décoration à l’école Bellecour de Lyon durant une quinzaine d’années.

En 2005, il reprend la Direction pédagogique de l'EDl, Ecole Dubois Lausanne fondée en 1965 par l'académicien et décorateur d'intérieur Marius Joseph Dubois et ouvre son atelier d'architecture Place de la Gare 4 à Lausanne.

Les étudiants en architecture de l'EDL participent ainsi de manière concrète aux différentes étapes des mandats du bureau d'architecture dans les cantons romands, du projet à la mise à l'enquête, des plans d'exécution aux études de détails, des choix des matériaux à leur mise en oeuvre, de l'établissement des soumissions au suivi de chantier jusqu'à la phase finale.

Fort de l'expérience acquise au fil des années, son objectif reste avant tout de transmettre sa passion et ses compétences dans les différents modes de représentation graphique afin de guider chaque étudiant sur le chemin qui va du projet à la réalisation, en l'aidant à prendre confiance en ses qualités, exprimer ses idées et transmettre son propre message par le langage universel du dessin.

Aussi exigeant avec ses étudiants qu'avec lui-même, il les amène à dépasser leurs limites et acquérir toutes les qualités requises afin d'être compétitifs sur le marché du travail.